28 March 2024 (Hong Kong) – The 48th Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF48) kicked off tonight at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre with the Asian premiere of Ray Yeung’s All Shall Be Well, the Teddy Award winner at the recent 74th Berlin International Film Festival.

Joining director Yeung to greet the audience was All Shall Be Well‘s outstanding ensemble cast, including Patra Au, Maggie Li, Tai Po, Hui So-ying, Leung Chung-hang, Fish Liew, Rachel Leung, Li Lai-ha, and Lai Chai-ming.

The Secretary for Culture, Sports and Tourism, Mr Kevin Yeung, officiated the glittering opening ceremony in the presence of HKIFF48 festival ambassador Karena Lam, Filmmaker-in-Focus Fruit Chan, and a host of distinguished guests, including British-Irish filmmaker/playwright Martin McDonagh, Indian documentarian Anand Patwardhan, Japanese director Kaneko Shusuke and his leading actor, Okada Masaki.

As one of Hong Kong’s most significant annual cultural events since 1977, the 12-day HKIFF48 takes place until 8 April, featuring over 190 films from 62 countries and regions. There are five world premieres, six international premieres, and 64 Asian premieres.

In addition to McDonagh, Patwardhan, Kaneko, and Okada, a host of international filmmakers will visit Hong Kong to meet the audience in person during HKIFF48, including Spanish maestro Víctor Erice, Cannes Best Actress Zar Amir, American animation artist Bill Plympton, Japanese documentarian Soda Kazuhiro, Taiwanese master filmmaker Tsai Ming-Liang, and Japanese director Miyake Sho.

The complete HKIFF48 programme and screening schedule are available on HKIFF’s official website (www.hkiff.org.hk).  The public can still purchase tickets through URBTIX.